Okay okay I know it’s way past April now, but I’ve had a lot to do! Between all of this traveling, I’ve been writing a dissertation (in case anyone forgot that I was actually going to school, not just exploring the UK). BUT although it’s several months later, I just wanted to post a couple of fun things I did at the end of April!

I had a few days after my parents left to catch my breath before my next visitor came: my boyfriend. Since it was his first time in Scotland, we spent a lot more time exploring Glasgow and I got to show him all of my favorite hangouts. We also took two small trips, one weekend in Edinburgh and then a day trip to the Lochs.

We had a blast in Edinburgh, especially because the weather was amazing. Since I had

2017-04-22 15.28.17
the BF insisted on this pic of  out of place artillery
2017-04-22 15.32.49
Insider’s view of the Castle

just been there two weeks before with my parents, I became our amateur tour guide. I took us all around my favorite spots around the city telling him some of the quirky stories about Edinburgh that I’ve learned over the past year. One of the best things about our first day in Edinburgh was that we scored FREE tickets to the Castle! We hadn’t intended to go inside because it’s a bit pricey, but we just got as close as we could when this lady (MVP of the trip) asked if we wanted her extra tickets. Um heck yes! SOOO we got to spend the afternoon exploring the Castle and getting awesome views of the city. Also the Castle sports some pretty awesome museums. Definitely worth a visit.

The next day we explored a bit further outside of the city which meant we did a TON of walking. We got up early(ish) and heading out to find a full Scottish breakfast because we needed our strength for the day! Our first task: to climb Arthur’s seat. We couldn’t have asked for a more beautiful day for the hike. It never ceases to amaze me how gorgeous Scotland is when the sun finally comes out!

We climbed back down the far side of the hill and walking through the small town of Duddingston, taking a small break at the wildlife reserve. There were a bunch of wild birds, like grouse, ducks and swans (I kept my eyes on the swans; those guys are shady).

2017-04-23 16.06.54
Dean Village

Then we walked back towards Edinburgh University and along Lothian road. I had read about the village of Dean in some travel blogs about Edinburgh and wanted to see the little town for myself. So we continued to walk that was until we reached the river Leith. The town was beautiful as promised and we took the Leith walkway until we reached Stockbridge. By this point, coffee and ice cream was much needed. After resting, we continued towards New Town, stopping along the way to see statues and houses of famous scientists. Finally we ended our long day with pleasant stroll through the Princes Street Gardens and went off to have a much deserved dinner and rest at my favorite Edinburgh restaurant, The Hanging Bat (honestly it’s awesome, mostly because it has a ton of beer on tap!)

On our last day in Edinburgh, we started out with the best breakfast at Cafe Class. Seriously it was incredible. Then we moseyed through the city for one last look around. We looked went down to Holyrood Palace and walked back up behind the Royal Mile,

cemetery
Awesome view from one of the cemeteries

checking out some of the old cemeteries along. Probably sounds strange, but we’ve always had a weird fascination with cemeteries especially here in Scotland because they have such huge gravestones and mausoleums. Finally it was time to head back to Glasgow.

We spent the rest of the week checking out all of the museums, breweries, and sites that Glasgow has to offer. The BF particularly like the Necropolis, except for the part where it started hailing. The days went by way too fast, but we had something fun planned for his last day in Scotland. We booked a small bus tour that went up through Loch Lomond National Park, Inveray,  Oban, Glencoe and various castles along the way. We saw so many amazing places along the way. We were both so glad to have gotten a little taste of the highlands.

 

At the very end of the day, just when we were starting to get sad that our time together was almost up, we saw the most amazing rainbow outside. It was just a perfect little reminder of how happy our trip had been. I’m so lucky to have gotten time, as short as it was, with my partner in crime.

2017-04-27 16.47.20

Leave a Reply

