Green Spaces

Mid-September has been glorious, weather-wise that is! The upcoming cold weather is imminent in the crisp, morning air, but when the clouds break it feels like May! We’ve had some rain here and there but I’ve actually been able to leave my raincoat at home the past couple of days.

This past week has been a whirlwind of information about my upcoming  year of study. Each day I’ve had a full schedule of induction events, most of which have involved museum visits, writing seminars, course introductions, and frequents mentions of the D-word (Dissertation!). It’s been quite an overwhelming week and I’m quite looking forward to the weekend. Classes start next week so I need to relax while I can!

Since the weather has been so lovely and I needed some fresh air, I decided to explore more of the local parks today. Glasgow has a huge amount of green spaces, a few of which are right near the university. I went back to the Botanic Gardens to explore more (since it was quite rainy and dreary last time I visited). The gardens were a popular place since they are full of benches and lawns open to the public. There was such a great community feel to the place today. Young and old, groups and individuals were all out enjoying the sunshine. It was really touching for me to see how despite being across an ocean, people here are really just like people back home. Everyone loves escaping outside when the sunshine beckons.

 

While walking around the gardens more, I found a walkway that winds along the river Kelvin, which is a small river that runs through the West End of Glasgow. I always love finding a hidden slice of nature so close to the urban landscape. In a lot of ways the West end reminds me a lot of Pittsburgh. It has parks, museums, universities, and the students that go along with it.

 

After leaving the gardens, I followed the river walkway which led up in to Kelvingrove Park. This is an enormous park right in the center of West End. It’s quickly been my favorite place to walk and there’s conveniently a shortcut through the park to get the university. This park is really nice because its super dog friendly and also really encourages different activities. There’s a skate park and dedicated bike trails, as well as jungle gyms and picnic benches. So as you can imagine, it’s quite a popular place on a pleasant Friday afternoon! A day relaxing in the greenery was a wonderful way to unwind after my crazy week. So glad that I’m never too far from nature here in Glasgow!

 

 

Leave a Reply

